mom who works

the joys and challenges of being a working mom trying to find "balance"

hard of hearing July 11, 2009

Filed under: general — Deborah @ 3:32 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I used to be able to sleep through anything – thunderstorms, tornadoes, earthquakes, LOUD snoring – BEFORE I had children. Then my daughter was born, and that blessed talent disappeared.  Why is it that moms can always hear the faintest peep of the little ones, even when they don’t WANT to? Even when it’s THEIR TURN to sleep in? Me actually getting an opportunity to sleep in is kinda pointless, as my super duper mom ears tune in to the faintest whisper.

This “skill” is apparently not limted to children – it apparently applies to all young’uns in need. Case in point, our 11-month-old German Shorthaird Pointer puppy Clifford (okay, so the 7-year-old named him, what can I say?). Our daughter was at her grandparent’s house this past weekend, we stayed up late watching movies on Friday, and we had nothing we had to get up for on Saturday. I was really looking forward to a few *extra* hours of sleep Saturday morning. Well, Clifford had other plans. At 5:40 AM, the highest pitch whine on the planet began.

I tried really, really hard to ignore it. I even tried the old “pillow over the head trick.” No use, I ended up getting up at 5:50AM to start the dog’s morning routine (out/food/play/out again & walk/naptime). Funny how men don’t seem to have the hearing problem. Hubby was literally 3 feet away from the dog (sleeping downstairs on the couch because the A/C keeps it much much cooler downstairs than up in our rambling bungalow), and didn’t wake up. Not once.

It’s hard not to get frustrated, although I sometimes just have to realize that at some point in their lives (both the kid, and the puppy), they won’t need me as much. So grin, listen and bear it.

 

One Response to “hard of hearing”

  1. As the Dad who is the primary care giver (house-husband, call it what you will), I’m sad to report it is me who has lost the ability for deep, restful sleep. Once I too slept the sleep of the righteousness. Now I am the one up 4 times in the night for the little girl in the room next door, while my wife slumbers peacefully on, oblivious to my night-time duties of drinks of water and praying away the bad dreams. Good for my wife – she works hard at her day job and needs the sleep. But she can’t understand why sometimes I’m not leaping out of bed to bring her a cup of tea in the morning.

    I find this interesting. So it’s not the gender – it’s somehow taking responsibility. At least the two boys are older now and only call on me when they are really sick (or the duvet is untucked).


Leave a Reply

