mom who works

the joys and challenges of being a working mom trying to find "balance"

The perfect men’s scarf January 6, 2010

Filed under: family,general — Deborah @ 12:16 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

So hubby had a very specific wish for Christmas, which was a nice cashmere scarf with lots of colors. Now, he’s quite the stylish guy, and I knew EXACTLY the scarf he was hoping for, which was something European and I think not unlike the colorful striped scarf he saw chef Jacques Pepin wearing in one of his holiday DVDs.Moreschi Wool and Silk Scarf

My life was a complete disaster leading up to the holidays (new job, houseguests coming at the last minute, two HUGE parties to shop and plan for, house to clean and decorate, oh yeah, and gifts to purchase), so let’s just say I didn’t start the whole searching-for-the-scarf until the week before Christmas. I’m thinking, “how hard can this be?” Hmmm.

I started by calling some of the local men’s boutiques and department stores. Like 12 of them. Since it was so late and I didn’t want to pay a million dollars for shipping. And NOT A SINGLE ONE had what I was looking for. Oh, plenty had brightly colored striped scarves, but in acrylic, or polyester, or some other inferior fabric. And plenty had nice cashmere scarves, but in solid colors, or dark neutral patterns, or, egads, plaid (hubby is decidedly NOT a plaid guy). So then I think, well, dear girl, you must pay the million dollars shipping and hit that old standby, the internet. No problem, right? WRONG!

After a panicked FULL DAY of searching every nook and cranny of Google (and even Bing), I finally discovered this AMAZING web site chock full of Italian products. And there it was – the most beautiful, most perfect scarf – and it cost, well, just short of a million dollars. It was WAY, WAY more than I wanted to spend on a scarf. I tried not to look at it. I tried not to pay attention to the fact it was made in Italy (ITALY!). I tried not to notice the beautiful colors and lovely fabric (wool/silk blend – not cashmere, but actually, IMHO, better). I actually tried to find a less expensive substitute. No problem, right? WRONG!

So at the very last minute, actually, at 15 minutes past the last minute I could order and still make a December 24th delivery date (this is coming from Italy, mind you), I gave in and ordered the very expensive, very beautiful scarf. And I begged and pleaded with the nice Italian lady on the phone to do whatever, WHATEVER, they could to get it here by December 24th. And they did. And it was beautiful, more beautiful even than the picture. And SOFT! And hubby absolutely LOVED it.  And it was worth it.

 

Leave a Reply

