mom who works

the joys and challenges of being a working mom trying to find "balance"

Amen, Sister! January 27, 2010

Filed under: family,general — Deborah @ 11:59 am
Tags: , , ,

When life is especially frantic, I often lament to anyone who would listen that “I need a wife.” I look with envy at my male colleagues with stay-at-home wives, wives who keep a beautiful and immaculate house, care for the kids, shop and cook dinner every night. They really don’t realize how lucky they are. Sigh.

It looks like I am not the only harried working mom to have fantasies of a 1950s-style home life. To wit, the op-ed piece “My So-Called Wife” at the New York Times today.

 

2 Responses to “Amen, Sister!”

  1. Ann Says:

    My husband and I would both love a “wife”! Enjoyed the MSNBC link too…always knew men were visual but that was very well-written.

    Good luck getting organized, Deborah…You Can Do It!!

  2. Deborah Says:

    Ha! Funny thought … I am sure my husband would love a “wife” too, which is actually kind of sad! Sometimes he even tries to make the case that plural marriage would not be such a bad thing – particularly if wife #2 were independently wealthy and could support us all in the style that we would *like* to become accustomed to! Then, of course, reality sinks in.

    Thanks for the comment!


Leave a Reply

