mom who works

the joys and challenges of being a working mom trying to find "balance"

The quest for the low-maintenance manicure June 29, 2011

Filed under: beauty,fashion & style — Deborah @ 1:55 pm
Tags: ,

 

Shellac manicure - day 13

Shellac manicure - day 13

I love manicured nails just like the next hard-working mom, but do NOT love (1) the time required to do it yourself, (2) the money required for weekly salon manicures, or (3) the time and effort to maintain nail polish during the very busy work week (and equally busy weekends!).

I am now on my fourth Shellac manicure in a row. That’s 8 weeks mind you, 8 WEEKS, with beautifully manicured fingernails. Hassle-free, beautifully manicured fingernails, truth be told.

This photo shows my current Shellac manicure at Day 13 – I’m scheduled for removal tomorrow. And I am a gardener, and chief cook-and-bottle-washer at my house, so these babies do NOT get pampered.

The only thing preventing me from going for Shellac manicure #5 is the time required for the salon visit. For anyone in the Milwaukee area, I drive out to Invitalize MediSpa in Franklin because they have killer deals on Shellac manicures (30% cheaper than other nearby salons), but it’s a good 35-minute drive one way from the office. The search is on for a salon nearby that does Shellac at a good price.

If you haven’t tried it, and you love manicured nails but hate the hassle, you HAVE to try Shellac. You’ll be hooked.

 

*This post is not sponsored in any way and is just my personal, un-funded opinion.

 

2 Responses to “The quest for the low-maintenance manicure”

  1. […] change my mani color 30 minutes before bed or in the morning before I head out the door. I was on a Shellac kick last summer, and the biggest reason was because I could get on with my life within 1o minutes of […]

  2. […] have done Shellac gel manicures in the past, and I am never again going to get on that application/removal roller coaster and the […]


Leave a Reply

