mom who works

the joys and challenges of being a working mom trying to find "balance"

Quick dry top coat has changed my life May 18, 2012

Filed under: beauty — Deborah @ 6:56 pm
Tags: , , ,

I have always loved a manicured nail, but my busy working mom life has often relegated this wish to the back of the line, for obvious reasons. TheSeche Vite quick dry top coatn something snapped about 4 months ago. I’m not quite sure how it happened, but I stumbled upon a post about Chanel Le Vernis Paradoxal by nail blogger Michelle Mismas at All Lacquered Up that got me craving that unique and chic color. So off I went to the Chanel counter. Then, obsession beginning in earnest and much internet reviewing later, after seeing references on Michelle’s blog several times about the MUA nail board I started digging around there too. And that’s when I discovered this product called Seche Vite and its brethren – the quick dry top coats.

Now the last time I really had the time or desire to be regular about manicures was way back in my college days, which was a very, very long time ago. I am blessed with naturally long nail beds, so my nails look pretty good even when kept fairly short (as I prefer). Back then in the way olden times, there weren’t many choices by way of top coat, and basically you needed to dedicate a good 1-2 hours to letting your mani dry. In my college days, what else was there to do but sit around and read some Simone de Beauvoir while your mani dried?

Flash forward to real life today as a wife, mom and busy worker bee. No where on EARTH do I have 1-2 hours of leisure time just sitting around to let my nails dry. Hence my pitiful stash of all of 8 nail polishes, consisting of about 5 red OPIs I bought at salons after pedicures with the same color, and a few mostly failed pink sheers for manicures that were office appropriate. Let’s just say the painting of nails was something done very rarely in my house.

Talk about convergence. The explosion (and resultant acceptance) of essentially any color on nails in popular culture (the popularization of black polish in the early 2000s, moving rapidly to greys, blues, greens and everything in between) and the entree into the market of these miracle products called quick dry top coats, which literally dry a traditional mani TO THE TOUCH in about 5 minutes, and solidify within 20 minutes, and you are looking at a born-again mani freak. It’s like a door flew wide open and I just stepped right in.

I now have nail color representatives from virtually every color in the rainbow, and other than crazy nail art or ridiculous glitter, I have no qualms about wearing nearly any creme or shimmer polish color to the office. I often change my color 1 or 2 times per week, unfortunately due to the fact that I have yet to find the base coat and top coat combo that will give me a chip-free mani for more than 2 days, but because of Seche Vite, Poshe, Out the Door and other quick dry top coats (QDTC), it’s no biggie to literally change my mani color 30 minutes before bed or in the morning before I head out the door. I was on a Shellac kick last summer, and the biggest reason was because I could get on with my life within 10 minutes of getting my nails done. QDTC now lets me do the same, but I’m not stuck with a color for 2 weeks or a super drying removal process, like I was with Shellac.

What about you – have you been bitten by the QDTC bug?

 

6 Responses to “Quick dry top coat has changed my life”

  1. Lindz Says:

    A friend sent me a bottle of the Seche Vite Fast Dry Top Coat last summer and from the moment I first cracked open that bottle I was hooked. It has be very good to me until about a month and a half ago when I noticed how thick it had become. Luckily though that is easily remedied with the Seche Vite Restore Polish Thinner. I definitely recommend that you invest in a bottle of this as well because your day will surely come.

  2. Deborah Says:

    Thanks, yes I’ve heard that about Seche Vite. One trick I learned on the MUA nail board is to tip the bottle upside down when finished and let 2-3 air bubbles float up. That supposedly “seals” the bottle and avoids the gloopy middle-of-the-bottle issues. So far so good, but I do need to get Restore too.

  3. […] person. Like my lipsticks and most of my other makeup (other than nail polish, and that’s only recently), I don’t mess around too much when I finally find a fragrance that I like. I have my […]

  4. […] me that I wasn’t moisturizing my cuticles enough and I needed oil, oil, oil. So, even before my recent mani obsession I always had a couple of bottles of cuticle oil laying around the house and […]

  5. […] polishes, 4 were pale pink neutrals and the remaining 4 were varying shades of red. Prior to my discovery of quick dry top coat, however, it made a rare appearance on my fingers because of the maintenance issues involved. I do […]

  6. […] I’ve documented here previously, my prior nail life, before Chanel and before quick dry top coat, consisted of a few shades of pale […]


Leave a Reply

