mom who works

the joys and challenges of being a working mom trying to find "balance"

Clinique Chubby Sticks June 5, 2012

Filed under: beauty — Deborah @ 4:22 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Clinique Chubby StickI’ve always been a big fan of Clinique’s various lip colors. From their Long Last Lipstick (with my favorite shade for literally the last 20 years, Vintage Wine), to their Almost Lipsticks and everything in between, I’ve found that they make a very nice lipstick, in great colors, for a reasonable price. I got started with them because I found I was very sensitive to fragrance on my lipstick. Most of the cheaper drugstore brands have fairly strong (read, fake) scents, that, since your lips generally sit right beneath your nose, would drive me batty.

I stopped by the Clinique counter a few months ago looking for a few new shades for spring – something pinkish and something coral, and was introduced to the Chubby Stick.

Exactly as the name implies, it has a heft and feel not unlike your toddler’s favorite chubby crayons. In fact they really look, and behave, like a crayon, only much nicer on your lips. As to be expected with a sheer color like this, they don’t wear terribly well, but I also don’t care. The application couldn’t be easier, the colors couldn’t be more flattering, and the price couldn’t be better (US $16). They are glossy without being a goopy gloss. Just sheer, shiny color. I solved some of the wear issue by lightly penciling in a complementary color underneath. I also imagine these would layer quite beautifully over a more matte or long-wear lipstick.

These are available online at Clinique.com and at Clinique counters, and certainly worth checking out!

 

Leave a Reply

