mom who works

the joys and challenges of being a working mom trying to find "balance"

Nekkid nails and Seche Retain Nail Treatment June 12, 2012

Filed under: beauty — Deborah @ 3:58 pm
Tags: , , , ,

As sometimes happens, even though I love to have my nails painted ALL THE TIME, sometimes my schedule Seche Retain Nail Treatmentjust won’t allow for me to do my usual mani. However, if I don’t put something on to protect my nails, I find that they start peeling and breaking off almost immediately. When I find myself in these situations I usually pull out my trusty white pencil (to run under the tips) and an easy-to-slap on nail treatment product.

Up until now, my go-to product for this type of situation has always been OPI’s Nail Envy. It goes on nearly clear, just provides a slight shine to the nails, and helps protect them, especially if you reapply the product every day.

I happened to pick up a bottle of Seche Retain Nail Treatment at Sally Beauty Supply last week (I got it free with the purchase of 2 China Glaze nail colors that I bought for my daughter’s last day of school), and thought I’d give it a go. I have to say I’m impressed, and I like this even more than Nail Envy.

Initially it is much shinier than Nail Envy on the nail, and I also found that it was much more protective. With Nail Envy, I really WOULD have to reapply it every day, and even then it would “wear off” fairly quickly, leaving my nails somewhat exposed. With Seche Retain, however, I put on one coat and found that I was able to wash dishes, garden, cook, do laundry and all the things I usually do over the weekend and the coating didn’t even budge. No chips, no wear, no peeling nails.

The Seche nail treatment line does have other treatments, including one to help strengthen weak nails. Retain is meant to help generally strong nails “retain” their strength – get it? Um, yes, you should. Sally Beauty’s buy 2 China Glaze and get a free Seche treatment sale continues through the end of June, but in the US only. Normally retails for $8.99, and is well worth every penny (even the free kind!).

 

One Response to “Nekkid nails and Seche Retain Nail Treatment”

  1. Latarsha Walkowiak Says:

    The first and perhaps most obvious cause of this is the nail bed has been damaged from constant use of artificial or acrylic nails. Acrylic nail extensions usually require the nail bed to be buffed and filed down so the nail extension appears as natural as possible. While the resulting extension may be nice to look at, your natural nails are left thin and weak underneath.*

    Our new web site
    <.http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/fish-oil-side-effects/


Leave a Reply

