mom who works

the joys and challenges of being a working mom trying to find "balance"

*Experiment* of the day – Chanel nail art July 19, 2012

Filed under: beauty — Deborah @ 10:57 am
Tags: , , ,

Chanel nail art experiment Diwali DragonI am not a fan of much nail art – I can appreciate the artistry and skill that goes into a lot of what’s seen on the web, but I don’t have the time, patience, skill or office environment that would allow me to try it myself.

A month or so ago, Cafe Makeup took photos of the windows at the Chanel Rue Cambon boutique in Paris highlighting the Bombay Express de Chanel collection for the summer. I jumped all over the nail art that Chanel showed there, which was a platinum gold Diwali Le Vernis base topped with a true red diagonal. Unknown what the red is, but I had a hunch that the one-coat beauty that is Dragon Le Vernis would work beautifully here.

As my Diwali manicure needed to be removed anyway, I thought I would take a few minutes and try my hand at the Bombay nail art. This literally was just one coat of Dragon Le Vernis drawn freehand over two coats of Diwali as the gold base. I am sure you could get a much sharper, nicer edge if you used tape. I just wanted to do a quick test to see how it looked.

I really like it, and I am definitely going to do this for a special event or the holidays. I think when I do it again I’ll leave more of the gold showing. For my office, it’s a bit too *flash,* but I think it’s a classic yet unique way to spice up an ordinary manicure.

 

Leave a Reply

