mom who works

the joys and challenges of being a working mom trying to find "balance"

Tiffany on the nails – Chanel Le Vernis Nouvelle Vague 527 nail polish August 25, 2012

Filed under: beauty — Deborah @ 8:29 am
Tags: , , , ,

Chanel Le Vernis Nouvelle Vague 527 nail polish*Le sigh.*

Did you ever have something that you really, really wanted, but was seemingly unobtainable?

Did you ever then get that unobtainable thing only to find that it couldn’t possibly meet your expectations?

Chanel Le Vernis Nouvelle Vague 527 is NOT that. While the formula is a bit of a pain to apply, the color, oh the COLOR of this polish just makes me swoon.

And I am really not a big fangirl of “non-traditional” nail colors. I have a few blues, a few greens, but mostly my collection consists of neutrals, pinks, reds and vamps.

Introduced as part of the Les Pop-up de Chanel collection in Summer 2010 with Riviera 537 and Mistral 517, Nouvelle Vague was an instant hit and near instant sell-out. Which meant of course that by the time I got interested in Chanel polishes they were only available if you were willing to shell out crazy money, or, if you were very, very patient. And patient I was.

I personally think it’s crazy enough to spend US $26+ on nail polish, and I also think it’s certifiable to spend into the hundreds for very rare colors like Jade. But Nouvelle Vague was one of the few of Chanel’s discontinued polishes that I had on my wish list. I set myself a limit of what I would spend, and saw bottle after bottle come up on eBay for nearly twice that. I had resigned myself to the fact that I would likely never own it.

Then one day, the same day in fact I found the other polish on my short wish list, Chanel Le Vernis Steel, I happened upon a bottle that, when factoring in shipping, was exactly at the limit I set myself to spend. And I even negotiated with the seller to include shipping in the price, so it dropped to US $5 below (ever the lawyer, I know). I couldn’t believe it. I honestly thought I’d never get a bottle. And then, a few weeks later, here it is.

And it is beautiful. The color of a Tiffany box, it is much more flattering, in my opinion, than the other light blue in my collection, Chanel Le Vernis Coco Blue, which can have a tendency on me at least to look a bit chalky. I wore silver earrings with a tiny turquoise bead in them on the day I took this photo, and the nails matched exactly. Not quite blue, not quite green, it is just a lovely color that looks beautiful and really “pops” when wearing neutrals like beige and black (Mlle. Chanel would be proud).

The formula is a bit more challenging than I am used to with Chanel. I had to be much more careful with application to get good coverage in 2 coats – there was some pulling and a few bare spots I had to touch up. Kind of like the picky China Glaze polishes I’ve tried.  That seems to be the case with many of blues and greens I’m noticing, regardless of brand. Maybe something in the pigment contributes to these wonky formulas. Mind you, it’s not terrible, but I am just used to a standard of formula with Chanel that when I don’t get it, I pout a bit.

But then again, the COLOR makes up for it all. This is 2 coats of Chanel Le Vernis Nouvelle Vague 527 over Chanel Base Protectrice and topped with Seche Vite quick dry top coat. A perfect way to close out summer.

 

6 Responses to “Tiffany on the nails – Chanel Le Vernis Nouvelle Vague 527 nail polish”

  1. Nicole Says:

    I love this nail polish!

  2. Sinead Says:

    That colour is so beautiful, definitely worth the wait!

  3. I wore this last week, isn’t it amazing? I nominated you for an award on my blog! http://thefrustratedfashionista.blogspot.com/2012/08/liebster-award-for-up-and-coming.html

  4. […] am not normally one to get all rhapsodic about blue nail polish (although I’ve acquired a number of them […]

  5. […] Tiffany on the nails – Chanel Le Vernis Nouvelle Vague 527 nail polish […]

  6. […] me, I’m a bit of a traditionalist. I dabble a bit in blues and greens, but not too much. Really only because my Chanel collector gene kicks in do I pick up any of those […]


Leave a Reply

