mom who works

the joys and challenges of being a working mom trying to find "balance"

Chanel Le Vernis Delicatesse from Fashion Night Out 2012 October 7, 2012

Filed under: beauty — Deborah @ 2:49 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Chanel Le Vernis Delicatesse nail polishYou all know that I am now a confirmed Chanel Le Vernis collector. Well, at least I now know and admit this. I’m just envisioning a 12-step program … “Hi, my name is Deborah, and I paid $300 for a new bottle of Jade.” Wait! I’m not THAT bad. No, I am leaving the Jades of the world to those more fortunate than I.

Regardless, I have now admitted to myself that going forward, as Chanel releases new collections, that I will have to get the entire collection. Ergo, I am a collector.

Which is exactly what I did for the 2012 Fashion’s Night Out releases – Les Twin Sets de Chanel – Delicatesse, Provocation and Infidele (“Twin Sets” because they were released with companion lip colors).  Only really Provocation, a deep vampy berry purple, really called to me, but I knew I couldn’t just get one. As is frequently said on the interweb, few things are more costly than Chanel regret (note comment above RE Jade) and heaven knows I didn’t want to add that to my list of neuroses.

Surprisingly, however, once on the nail, all three colors really are very beautiful, even if somewhat meh in the bottle. And the one that surprised me most of all, was this lovely dark beige creme Delicatesse.

The formula is among Chanel’s best – this application is two coats, and it applies flawlessly. The color is difficult to describe. Depending on the light, it’s either a mauvey brown, or a dark beige, or even a greyish pink. Regardless, it’s more than office appropriate, and different enough from the standard issue neutrals and pale pinks that you feel slightly special wearing it. I know I sound like a broken record, but it’s a perfect “office appropriate with an edge.”

I thought it was easily duped, but to date, I haven’t seen any either in my collection or in others. As per usual, Sabrina at TheBeautyLookBook.com (who has a much bigger collection than I do) did a great job with comparison photos.

Delicatesse, along with Provocation and Infidele, is a limited edition available at select Chanel boutiques and also for US $26 on Chanel.com. If you like it, and you will, best to get them now while you can. Don’t forget about Chanel regret!

 

2 Responses to “Chanel Le Vernis Delicatesse from Fashion Night Out 2012”

  1. […] Fall 2012 Fashion’s Night Out collection “Les Twin-Sets de Chanel.” along with Le Vernis Delicatesse and Le Vernis Provocation. Chanel called it “Les Twin-Sets” because each of the three […]

  2. […] Fall as part of the Fashion Night Out “Les Twin-Sets de Chanel” collection, along with Le Vernis Delicatesse and Le Vernis Infidele. This is also due to be re-promoted (but with the addition of a number) in […]


Leave a Reply

